Dining Reviews: Epcot

Akershus
10/7/09: I love trying the different restaurants in World Showcase, but with kids, we have to be a little choosy. Akershus's menu seemed very kid-friendly, and the atmosphere fun, since it was a character meal. I really enjoyed the appetizer buffet. Our son made his meal out of it. I ordered the chicken breast and while it was very good, the barley that came with it was just so so. Hubby had the beef tips and loved it. Dessert was really good though...hubby devoured the chocolate mousse cake and I loved the warm apple tart thingy! Character interaction was good...but we felt rushed. It was cool to see Ariel in her dress and legs though! One of the coolest things was the picture. Before you were seated, you took a picture with Belle. At most character meals, and some non-character meals, when they take your picture, you have to pay for it. And it's not cheap- about $30 or so for a 5x7 and 4- 4x6's. (It's kind of become out tradition to buy one each trip to fill a frame I bought one year, so we pay this crazy cost anyway.) But not at Akershus...it's included in the price...even if you are on the Disney Dining Plan!! So so cool!


Biergarten
12/6/10: We'd been here a few times before and always loved it! Unfortunately, this time we were seated on the highest level of seating. The kids love to dance, so it was kind of a pain. But we managed. The distance from the dance floor was made up with our dining companions! We were sat with two older couples traveling together from Wisconsin- such friendly people! The waiter took our drink orders and I splurged with one of the featured drinks- a warm red wine with cinnamon and nutmeg and other yummy spices. Wow was it tasty! And surprisingly only $6! We adore the food here: the sausages and pretzel bread, salads, everything. Well, almost. The one thing that does not appeal to me too much here are the desserts...so I fill up on everything else! It was one of our favorite meals of the trip. Kids danced to the live music and since this was Christmas time, they sat and listened to a story of how Christmas is celebrated in Germany. Each kid received a cold chocolate coin.


Coral Reef 
10/08: The restaurant is absolutely beautiful inside, in all blue and green and the walls made from mosaic beach glass. unfortunately, we were not seated near the tank, but on the second tier. But, we did have a great view of the entire tank that way. It was neat to see the fish and sea turtles and the divers. Before the trip, I had arranged with my travel agent to have a special menu delivered to our table for my husband, a surprise for our 10th anniversary that we were celebrating on that trip. It included pictures of us and a special message from me. (not sure of they do this any more). I ordered the grilled pork, which is no longer on the menu :( It was really good. Hubby had the steak and really enjoyed it. For dessert, he had the Bailey's and jack Daniel's Mousse and while he loved it, it wasn't for me. I had The Wave, because I had read rave reviews of it. (and the current menu does not list it, so apparently that is gone too). But is was awesome, as expected. The service here was outstanding! We will definitely go back!

The Wave

Electric Umbrella
12/15: We have only eaten here once, years ago, but the updated menu sounded pretty decent. Hubby and I both had the French Dip Burger and it was pretty good :) Chicken nuggets were nice and crispy! My chocolate cupcake was tasty and so was the strawberry cheesecake!




Garden Grill
12/4/10: We'd had ressies for garden Grill the year before, but our son had gotten sick that day, so we had to cancel. So for this trip, I just had to make a reservation again. We were so excited to try this place! Living with the Land is one of my favorite rides in Epcot...I was a horticulture major in high school and college, so it really appeals to me. Thought it was cool to be able to see inside the ride while dining, and rotating the whole time, very cool. We were lucky and were seated at one of the tables on the lower level, no obstruction in our view, and since the restaurant is circular, we could not see any of the other booths. It felt very private...a nice family meal! The food was great too, served family style. Meats were good, and we even enjoyed the mahi mahi, and we are not seafood eaters at all. We needed a refill on our potatoes! Kids got a separate platter, but we all ate from both platters. Dessert was a mixed berry crisp for the adults, which was good, but raspberry seeds irritate me! LOL! The kid's dessert looked tastier...an Oreo Mickey mousse. I stole a taste...very good!

Adult dessert- Berry Cobbler


Kid's dessert- Oreo Mickey Mousse!

Le Cellier 
5/07: Been a while since we've eaten here, but I will include my review anyway. It was FANTASTIC!! Hubby has been wanting to go back, but it just never happened. And now that dinner is 2 dining plan credits, not sure if/when it will happen. But our first visit was lunch, so perhaps we'll do that again, since I think lunch is still 1 credit. I had some kind of steak sandwich (nothing on the current menu sounds right) and hubby had a steak. At the time, the dining plan still included an appetizer and we both had the Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup, so so good! And the pretzel rolls were great! I think I had a Creme Brulee sampler for dessert (again, no longer on the menu) and I think hubby had the whiskey cake, which I'm sure was good!

Liberty Inn
12/6/10: We had never eaten here as a family before. Once we grabbed a meal for our daughter while hubby and me dined on Food and Wine Festival offerings. Another time, hubby grabbed a sandwich while I ate at another World Showcase eatery. It's hard for us to find a place in World Showcase that appeals to all of us, so we decided to give this place a try, even though the menu looked simplistic. Hubby and I tried a special burger with bacon, ham and gouda. VERY tasty! For dessert he had a Rocky Road Brownie Mousse, which was very good. And I had an apple dumpling which was also very good. We were extremely happy with our meals there, having had low expectations!

3/6/11: Ate here again for my mother/daughter trip for my daughter's bday! I went with the pulled pork this time with coleslaw. Both were quite tasty! I was surprised...didn't expect much from the pork. And I had to have my apple dumpling too!



Apple dumpling- so yummy!
Margarita Stand (Mexico Pavilion)
12/10: These margaritas are fantastic!! usually I am not a frozen margarita fan, but these are so tasty and in the Florida heat, it usually melts fast anyway. (this last time it did not, as it was really cold, but I had to have one anyway!) I usually get the Fiesta Margarita..I like the variety!

Fiesta Margarita
Sunshine Seasons
12/4/10: This is usually where we eat on one of our Epcot days. This time I got the Rotisserie Chicken. I've had it before and liked it, even though it's a bit greasy. I had the rice pilaf, which was FAB, and beans. Hubby had the Turkey and Monterrey Jack Cheese on Foccacia- said it was good. We both had the Chocolate Mousse Cake and it was good too. Our daughter had the rotisserie chicken leg kids meal with rice and she liked it.

11/29/12: Ate here again and had some really awesome things! New items to the menu meant yummy new lunches for us! I had the Bahn Mi sandwich- just amazing!!! It came with a cold noodle salad that I didn't really like. It had an Asian type sauce and just wasn't something I liked cold. Warm, it would have been great. I think hubby had the Mongolian beef meal, but I really can't remember. Whatever he had, he loved it, but was jealous of my sandwich. My daughter had the sweet n sour chicken kids meal and liked it. Wasn't sure what to get our son, so I was so happy to see Uncrustables! He can be picky sometimes. Dessert was a yummy chocolate cake for me and creme brulee for hubby.

Bahn Mi sandwich!

Kids chicken

Cake!

Tangierine Cafe 
4/10: I had been wanting to try this for some time, but no one else in my family would touch the food with a ten foot pole. So when Hubby and me went alone, he grabbed something from somewhere else, and I ordered here. (he got his to go and met me here to eat). So cute inside and out. the atmosphere was perfect! I ordered the Shawarma Platter with chicken. The chicken was so good!! I really liked it a lot!! The hummus was good, but I think I prefer a roasted red pepper hummus, or other flavored variety. This was a bit too garlicky for me. I liked the cous cous salad, but the tabbouleh was a bit too herby for me. Next time, and yes, there will be a next time, I will try the wrap instead! The dessert was baklava, the only option for the dining plan credit. I was bummed about that. they had tons of pastries and things. I am not a huge fan of baklava, but it was decent. 

Teppan Edo
11/29/12: We've been waiting to do this one until our son was old enough to sit and really enjoy it. He was 4, almost 5 for this trip, so we thought it was time. And he adored it!! Both kids did! The show was really fun and we had a great chef. The food was really good too. Hubby and I both had the chicken and steak combo and the kids had chicken. Everything was really tasty, though I expected there to be a greater variety of veggies than just onions and zucchini. Hubby had the Ginger chocolate cake for dessert and that was really good. I went with the Green Tea pudding and was pretty underwhelmed :(

Veggies cooking! Onion volcano!

Sizzling meat :)

My pudding...kinda looked like flan.

No comments:

Post a Comment